Where do you want to be?

10 Jun

I found the following quote on Craig Gross’  Facebook page (Craig is one of the authors of “Starving Jesus” and “Jesus Loves You This I Know” ).

“Some wish to live within the sound Of Church or Chapel Bell. I want to run a rescue shop within a yard of Hell.”

Hmmm…. an interesting idea huh. Seems to fit rather well with Romans 15:1-3  “Those of us who are strong and able in the faith need to step in and lend a hand to those who falter, and not just do what is most convenient for us. Each one of us needs to look after the good of the people around us, asking ourselves, “How can I help?” That’s exactly what Jesus did. He didn’t make it easy for himself by avoiding people’s troubles, but waded right in and helped out.”

You know I always hesitate when discussing a topic such as this. It seems that anytime we have a discussion regarding doing something for the Lord it has a tendency to be perceived as an accusation that “You aren’t doing enough!”  I believe we have plenty of sources that are screaming at us, “you aren’t good enough, doing enough, trying hard enough…” Let’s face it. We aren’t. It’s a fact, always will be. We can’t do enough. We aren’t God. So don’t let those negative voices rule your actions. What we can do is the best we can at what we know God is telling us to do, and let God do His part of equipping and enabling us. Please don’t take anything I say as a criticism that you are not a worthwhile person. Let’s just understand too that not one of us are “worthwhile.” But ALL of us ARE LOVED. By God the Father. All of us are worth God sending His Son to die for.  Loved in a way that we cannot completely fathom. Don’t try to. Just believe it because He said it and it is so. God sees us as worthwhile because as Collossians puts it, “Our lives are hidden in Christ.” So lets hear it, believe it and listen to God.

So, that being said. Are we wanting so hard to be encouraged, comforted, loved by and built up by the church that we are too far from the doorstep of hell that we are not rescuing those that are walking TOWARDS the gates of hell. I’ve often said, “I would rather have my heels on the precipice of hell walking away from hell, than be a thousand miles away from it and be heading that direction.” In my position as an Administrator at a church, I have found myself so busy with church functions, that like the proverbial frog in a pot of water, I realized one day that I am not spending much time with the lost. All the things I do and have done are not of themselves wrong or misplaced service. But I find myself in need of evaluating how well I am doing Romans 15:1-3 with those around me that are heading away from God. There is not enough room on a blog to cover all the arguments and points of discussion about this topic. I don’t desire to try and settle the issue here. But I think we could all ask the question, “Am I wading in with troubled people and helping them find the way out, through, and beyond the troubles they are in.” Could I do less for those that are already drinking from the well and go out and give a cup to those that are dying of thirst? It doesn’t have to be a full time ministry to prostitutes, or a recovery program, etc. But interrupting my convenient lifestyle to help someone when God brings them to me, or I go out looking for them wherever I am. I don’t have all the answers. But one thing I know, we need to be asking questions of ourselves. Not from guilt, condemnation, or anything other than to see people find the answer I have found in walking daily with Jesus. Seeing someone who needs to know something of what God has shown me in His mercy and goodness.

I pray anybody that reads this is filled with hope and excitement as we realize that God has called us to a ministry of reconcilliation. We get to see people find a new hope, a new perspective on life as we show them what Jesus has done for us. What an awesome privelage.  I wrote something in my journal yesterday I want to share. “Our lives as Christians are not about working on our salvation, abouit living our lives in a way to gurantee our salvation. What must we do to be saved? Believe that Jesus died for my sins. Luke 15 says also to love the Lord God with all we are,  AND TO LOVE OUR NEIGHBOR AS OURSELVES. That’s it, thats all. Our lives are about living this fact out in such a way that others may see this and seek God. Our lives are about living as saved people that are becoming more like Christ. One small baby step at a time. One after another. Eat that elephant one bite at a time.

Leave a Reply

