Others

13 Jun

OTHERS

Lord help me live from day to day
In such a self-forgetful way
That even when I kneel to pray,
My prayer shall be for–others.

Help me in all the work I do
To ever be sincere and true
And know that all I’d do for you,
Must needs be done for–others.

Let “Self” be crucified and slain
And buried deep: and all in vain
May efforts be to rise again,
Unless to love for–others.

And when my work on earth is done
And my new work in heavens’ begun
May I forget the crown I’ve won.
While thinking still of–others.

Others, Lord, yes, others
Let this my motto be
Help me to live for others,
That I might live like Thee.

by C.D. Meigs

“My concern is that we are mirroring our culture’s focus on the inner self and not the representing the Bible’s message of focus on the exterior, outside, nothing-to-do-with-me or us-Good News of Jesus’ incarnation, death and resurrection.” -Issac Hovet

One Response to “Others”

  1. isaac June 13, 2009 at 10:43 PM #

    Thanks Mike.

    It is a journey we are on, eh?

    May the Lord bless you as you follow and trust him…

Leave a Reply

